Thursday, November 17, 2022

Dawn Bowlus, director of the University of Iowa Jacobson Institute for Youth Entrepreneurship, was one of three Tom Cilek Sizzle awardees recognized Nov. 10 at the Terry Trueblood Recreation Area in Iowa City.

In 2017, the Iowa City Area Development Group (ICAD) presented Cilek with the inaugural Sizzle Award for being a community champion for economic development. The award has since been presented annually to community members who go above and beyond as community champions for economic development.

Bowlus is a partner in youth entrepreneurship and is dedicated to the Iowa EdTech Collaborative. Together, Jacobson Institute for Youth Entrepreneurship and Iowa EdTech Collaborative launched DesignDash in spring 2022. DesignDash is a startup experience aimed at high school students and teachers in Iowa. Bowlus and the Jacobson Institute for Youth Entrepreneurship team have been instrumental in the creation and execution of DesignDash, highlighting innovation and “solving all the world’s problems in a day.” 

I am thrilled by the success of DesignDash,” Bowlus said. “As a proud partner with ICAD and the Iowa EdTech Collaborative, we have created a community event engaging high school students and educators in the startup experience. It’s inspiring to see what we can accomplish working together for a common goal.”

Joining Bowlus as 2022 award-winners were Ayman Sharif, outreach and engagement specialist at City of Iowa City and Andre Wright, founder of Wright House of Fashion.

The Jacobson Institute for Youth Entrepreneurship is a division of the University of Iowa John Pappajohn Entrepreneurial Center (Iowa JPEC). Iowa JPEC is the hub for entrepreneurship education and outreach at the University of Iowa.