Iowa SBDC logo


The University of Iowa America’s Small Business Development Center (SBDC) was established in 1982 as one of the four original regional centers in Iowa. The center is part of the John Pappajohn Entrepreneurial Center (Iowa JPEC) and the Tippie College of Business. The University of Iowa SBDC serves businesses in Cedar, Iowa, Johnson, Poweshiek, and Washington counties. Paul Heath serves as the Regional Director of the University of Iowa SBDC, as a part of Iowa JPEC. He is a Certified Business Advisor, as well as a C.M.A and C.P.A.


The center offers many resources to small business owners, as well as services tailored to fit their needs. SBDC workshops are held nearly every weekday at various locations throughout Iowa. The SBDC also hosts the Lunch & Learn monthly workshops for community members.


Small Business Development Center Advisory Board

Lynn Allendorf
University of Iowa John Pappajohn Entrepreneurial Center

Samantha Ferm
Government Contracting, Iowa State University

Steve Lacina

Scott Swenson

Kirkwood Community College

Mary Audia
Washington Economic Development Group

Paul Heath
Small Business Development Center

Brad Langguth
Hills Bank and Trust Co.

Greg Williams
Simmons Perrine Moyer Bergman PLC

Stephanie Dengler
University of Iowa Research Park

Angie Jordan
South of 6 Iowa City Business District

John Lohman
Corridor Business Journal

Gordon Epping
Gordon Epping, CPA

Rachel Kilburg
City of Iowa City

Samantha Meyer
Main Street Washington